Home Sweet Home

Dorothy was right, there is no place like home.

After moaning about how much I want to go home for what feels like weeks now, I finally made it! My parents arrived super early, meaning I was still in bed. But we packed the car up quick, and were home by lunch time.

It’s  great to be back with my family. More natural. I am taking tommorow off doing any of my work and going shopping with my mum, though if I get back with a reasonable amount of afternoon left, I suppose I will have no excuse but to start some reading at the very least. I miss the days when the start of the holidays meant you didn’t even have to think about work until you went back!

Strangely though, a lot of things appear to be very different at home. It seems a lot bigger for a start, with the bathroom especially appearing to be massive. The television also seems huge! In contrast to at uni though, at home I have a single bed, so I will be falling asleep in fear of the possibility of taking a tumble in the night!

In other furnishing related news, I took one of my bookshelves to uni with me to use, leaving a large stack of books in my room at home:

And this got me thinking. I was watching ‘The Vow’ the other day (please don’t judge me on my film choices!), and in the beginning is a monologue, in which it says

we’re sum of all the moments we’ve experienced with all the people we’ve ever known

This isn’t a new concept. In fact, within psychology it is a majorly overdone theme: are we influenced more by nature, or by nurture?
They both overlap so much that it is practically impossible to attribute anything solely to nature, or nurture. If we accept that a lot of what we are is affected by things which have influenced us though; how much of me has been influenced by my books? The pile above is only half the books I own, and in turn all the books I own is probably only a quarter of all the books I have ever read.

Does that mean that each book influences me a little? That part of me is J.K Rowling, part Tolkien, part Shakespeare? Or do they each cancel each other out a little, just causing a general influence of ‘books’?

Had I read different books, would I have different views on certain things? Had I not been an avid reader, would I have the same views and opinions as I do now? Would my language use be different? My personality? My writing style?

I guess it will always be impossible to say, but it really did make me stop and ponder.

Sorry for the ramble. It may in part be due to the sleep deprivation caused by my parents ridiculously early arrival!

Until next time x

11 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. you got me thinking a bit….yes, books definitely influence us. Gosh they do. I for one have picked up a helluva lot of quirks from books that I read growing up.

    • Same 🙂 I think y language is what is most affected by books. When I was younger I used to love the Enid Blyton ‘Famous Five’ series, but I ended up speaking like I had been born a century before my time! I have the same thing now when I read old books!

      • loved Famous 5…lol those kids used to have the best dang picnics ever….they always seemed to end up eating somewhere along the way…yeah, took a bit of getting used to England each time we visited. We’d end up returning to the States sounding and talking very ‘british’ 🙂 I never got around Shakespeare because the English in that was old school and felt weird. I know, I’m a philistine 😉

        • That’s very true, I personally loved how they always collected heather to sleep on when they were camping out! I live in England though, so Shakespeare is always in our cirriculum for English Literature. I think Shakespeare really has to be seen rather than read though, after all, the plays were meant to be seen.

          • Yeah, the heather….remember that now 🙂 damn I feel old…that was like 28 years ago 🙂 whoa! As for Shakespeare…completely with you on that…give me the dvd and I’ll watch it but you need to put a gun to my head to read it 🙂 I’d rather read a technical manual or something over that…just torture all that old school English.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

