Birmingham Christmas Market

So yesterday we went to Birmingham Christmas market, and I realised not only are the buses far cheaper up here, but also the trains.  It only cost me £4.10 to get from Coventry to Birmingham New Street! Once I was done being scandalized, we had to cram onto a train, and a very kind guy moved up so I could sit down.

The Christmas Market was amazing. I was expecting stalls, but instead they were big wooden cabin things, selling all kinds of wares. Most of the things were ornaments and general crafty things, but there were also lots of stalls selling food like hot dogs and crepes, as well as many stalls selling drinks like mulled wine and cider. My favourite is the one pictured below, which was a viking themed stall selling hot wine and cider. As you can see, the people running the stall were also appropriately dressed with viking hats, which they lent us when we started taking pictures.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/556940_382268391861524_1645165901_n.jpg

And the one selling crepes was pretty awesome too:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/r270/59678_382279708527059_1014621150_n.jpg

We also saw a carrossel:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/558781_382270061861357_874089291_n.jpg

(I didn’t take a picture of the bottom part as I thought it was a bit weird to take pictures of other peoples children…)

And a giant bull:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/189925_382270721861291_357955182_n.jpg

All in all it was a really good day, although the crowds were ridiculous – perhaps we shouldn’t have gone on the weekend! It was also absolutely freezing, hence why I am so padded out in the pictures! I wore a strappy top (as a vest substitute) , a t-shirt, my new psychology hoody, and my coat; in addition to two pairs of socks, and mittens over my gloves. Needless to say, I was a tad toasty in the shops!

I rarely go to big cities, and it was quite an experience. I probably go to London once or twice a year, so cities always bewilder me a little. There is so much to take in! This culminated in me both walking into a bollard while looking up at the old buildings (and being teased for at least 15 minutes for being a country girl*) and me considering the pro’s and cons of living in a city compared to the countryside.

When I go to cities, I always think they are great because they are so busy, and there is so much to do, right on your doorstep. But then I think that after a while the novelty would wear off. I mean how often would I actually use said activities like the theatre/cinema/shopping/ice skating etc.? The answer is very little probably. Plus in return for all the good stuff on your doorstep you have to deal with the higher crime rates and the possibility of becoming a victim of crime, crowds, constant noise, increased pollution, and an abundance of concrete in place of trees and grass. People also seem a lot ruder in the cities, and nobody knows your name or your parents when you walk down the street or into a shop! The other benefit I thought about in regards to the city is that it just seems more vibrant and alive. But then I thought; while the city dwellers see buskers all the time, and there are more people to make it seem more ‘alive’ we have a different kind of alive, like when its lambing season, and you get to see all the baby lambs walking about on shaky legs! All in all then, I think that walking into bollards is a small price to pay for the countryside.

* Common themes included: “Is the biggest building you normally see a farm” and “Leave her alone, she was confused by the lights!” among others.

Until the next time I have something worthy to say Folks! x

9 thoughts on “Birmingham Christmas Market

  1. Pingback: Small town Christmas Market | UniYears

  2. Really appreciate the pics 🙂 Suggestion … next time you go out take more food pics for us stuck out here in the 3rd world to show our domestics so they can cook something similar or to just drool over 😉

Please feel free to leave a comment!

