#5 Siblings

A much better subject than the last challenge I feel! So those of you who actually read my blogs (and I’m aware you are probably a small demographic) you will know I have two siblings: Little sister and Big sister.

Big sister has been there my entire life. A pre-made best friend who waited for me to arrive so we could play together. ย Then when I was around 2 1/2 I got to be the one waiting around for Little sister to come along and complete our threesome. We are a trio. Three little girls who always dressed the same at Christmas. Three girls who still do everything together when we get the chance.

Sisters are the best. You can tell them everything you can’t tell your parents. They are there to keep your secrets.

Obviously it isn’t always a bed of roses. Big sister was actually very nasty to me sometimes when we were little, to the extent that our Mum said she’s surprised I actually like her nowadays. But I am a fairly forgiving soul, and she was kind to me too. When I forgot my tuck for school she would come and give me some of her grapes. She taught me to ride a bike. She was my playmate for the first 10 years of my life, and a decade is a long time. I remember once when I fell over and cut my knee, and she gave me one of her plasters. Sounds stupid, I know, but these were ANIMAL plasters (it was a giraffe, to be specific) and they were a NEW PACK, from SANTA no less. Bet it doesn’t sound so stupid now, huh?

Nearly every single memory I have before starting secondary school features one or both of my sisters. Nearly every story I have worth telling starts with ‘Me and my sister(s)’.

And that is why I think only children are so sad. They never had a pre-made best friend. Everyone says only children just make up for it by having more/closer friends. But those friends probably go home and play with their siblings. It just seems so so sad to me that some people are a one, as opposed to a duo or a trio, or however many siblings there may be in a certain family.

Indeed, I find it sad that my friend Alice only has brothers. She was saying the other day how she went to see a film over summer with her brother. But only because she had gone on holiday the week her friends had gone to the cinema and seen that film. On the other hand, I never think to ask my friends to go to the cinema with me if there is a film I want to see. I arrange it with my sisters, and hope that I can rope my parents in too (that way we get a lift, maybe lunch, and will get our tickets paid for). Still, any siblings must be better than none.

Maybe I’m just a rare family person, but there you go.

So to end this particularly soppy post, I am going to quote poetry. Its the last verse from ‘The Goblin Market‘ by Christina Rossetti, and I have always loved it:

“For there is no friend like a sister,
In calm or stormy weather,
To cheer one on the tedious way,
To fetch one if one goes astray,
To lift one if one totters down,
To strengthen whilst one stands.”

Let me know your thoughts about only children, and the relationships between you and your siblings….or how you find being an only child. Image from dreamstime.com

4 thoughts on “#5 Siblings

  1. I’m an only child and I’ve always wondered what it would be like to have siblings but because I never had them I don’t miss not having them. I think it has made me something of an introvert, I really enjoy time to myself and don’t have a problem with spending an afternoon or even a day on my own, while I know others live in halls would feel lonely. I do have three cousins that didn’t live too far away who I saw regularly while I was growing up and I guess in some ways they were part-time siblings – I still feel very close to them and miss not seeing them so much these days… Can’t wait until Christmas until we all get together again ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s a very good point – can you miss what you have never had? It’s nice that you were close with your cousins though ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I’m somewhat of an introvert for the same reason though – when I was a child I had to escape the hustle and bustle of such a busy family sometimes! You’ve given me inspiration to maybe do a post on birth order effects now! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Aaaww… that was such a lovely post. I am the big sister of the family with a younger sister and brother who don’t enjoy the ‘bossiness’ (as they like to call it – I prefer ‘reminding’). My sister is a year younger than me and though we are very different characters, it is always nice to have someone to do things with. Also it’s so much more comfortable at those awkward family gatherings when you can chat to your siblings in a room where you don’t know anyone instead of standing there by yourself! I have lots of fond memories from my childhood, and as you said, most of the time they involve my brother and/or sister and it makes me glad to have them.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

